Tutorial Tuesdays: Striped Anchor Tote Bag

Anchors are my thang! (I even have a tattoo) So when I had a chance to make a craft project at work, I of course had to make something fun to take to the beach. So I sketched out my project and it luckily came out exactly how I expected it to. I wish I could have taken better pictures but it wasn’t possible with how busy I was at work.

Items used for this project:
Tulip Soft Paints: Turquoise, Holiday Green, & Mandarin Orange
Tulip Slicks: Turquoise
Tulip Fashion Glitter: Turquoise & Glitter Bond
Tote Bag
Painters Tape
Freezer Paper
Felt
Exacto Knife
Paint Brush
Rope

I first used painters tape to make 2″ stripes across the bag and painted the stripes Mandarin Orange.

Once it’s dry, I removed the tape. I used an exacto blade to cut out an anchor from freezer paper. Ironed on the freezer paper to the bag. I then mixed the Holiday Green and Turquoise Soft Paints( to match the color of the Turquoise Slick paint) to paint the anchor. Once it’s dry, remove the freezer paper and outline with the Slicks 3D paint.

With the felt, I cut out a smaller anchor and covered both sides with the turquoise glitter. I then cut a small hole with the exacto blade to string to the tote bag.

Leave a Reply

