Things To Do Thursday: Unplug

How many hours do you spend plugged into your electronics?

Asking you this question now, I am now realizing that I pretty much spend from the moment I wake up till the time I go to bed connected in someway. I wake up and instantly check my phone for any new e-mails, Facebook notifications & blackboard announcements.(School) As I get ready for work I normally turn my computer on to listen to music, look up outfit ideas and whatever else pops into my head. As soon as I get to work, I scroll through all the e-mails I have received since I left the night before and spend the rest of the day on and off the computer doing what is needed. I then come home just to get back onto the computer to do homework, pay bills, read blogs, and browse other sites. As I finally lay down for the night, about to turn off the lights, I find myself checking my phone for the same reasons I did when I woke up in the morning. Not to mention all the time I spent texting, playing Draw Something, looking at MSNBC app, Pinterest and Instagram randomly throughout the day.

With all that said, we are all in much need for a day to completely unplug from the electronic world. Believe it or not, there’s ways to function without it! Below are a few things to do on your unplugged adventure.

Read a book.
I spent a good majority on my childhood with my face buried in a book. It was to a point where my aunt took my book away from me one day at the park and forced me to go play with the other children. With the very small amount of time I have for recreational reading, I make sure when I do read it’s something I’ll truly enjoy. Here are the last few books I’ve read that I would be willing to spend time re-reading.

Miracle in the Andes by Nando Parrado & Vince Rause
I’ve never been so emotional reading a book before. This book is in the point of view of Nando who was one of the passengers of the plane that crashed in the Andes in 1970’s on their way to a rugby game in Chili. It’s an amazing story of his survival being stuck in the Andes for 72 days, the first 3 of which he was unconscious. When he comes to he finds himself surrounded by his team mates and family members, many who died in the plane crash. The story tells how they survived an avalanche, hunger, freezing temperatures and a 45 mile trek across a mountain that should have been impossible to survive. I recently watched a documentary about it which was just as emotional and amazing.

Love and Sequins by Gala Darling
I was lucky enough to purchase this last month when it was 50% off. You can purchase the book by chapters or the book as a whole. They come in pdf form as well as a audio version of her reading the chapters. She’s a highly successful blogger and public speaker. Her book is VERY inspiring and really makes you want to get out and DO something with your life. She’s all about “radical self love” and the first chapter is all about learning how to love yourself. I am on chapter 2 now which is “The Smart Girl’s Guide to Business” where she talks about how to start your own business and how she got where she is now.


Kingdom of Fear by Hunter S. Thompson
He has been my favorite writer for years and have read this book more than once. The book isn’t really a story, more of numerous stories of his past starting with a story about his first encounter with FBI at age 9 for tipping over a mailbox in front of the bus to get revenge on the bus driver. I was super excited when I found out that Johnny Depp was going to make another Hunter movie but I was completely disappointed in The Rum Diaries. I couldn’t even finish watching because I lost complete interest.

The Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris
Now I wouldn’t normally like books like this and may be a bit embarrassed about saying this, but I thought these books were great. (The show True Blood does it no justice) There are 11 books total at the moment and am pretty sure that I’ve read the whole series. They are about a waitress that lives in Louisiana and can read other people’s minds. Vampires decided to come out into public and the story just keeps building from there. They sound quite lame but they definitely hook you in a way that you can’t release yourself from.

Organize your closet.
Although we all would like a closet that looks like this, many people don’t have the space or money to build one that looks like it’s a boutique. But with the change in seasons, you can pack away your winter items, get rid of unwanted items and reorganize the remainder.

Oprah- Adam Glassman’s Cleanout Tips
Cleaning Out The Closets
Changing Seasons: Clothes Closets Declutter

 

Start a Smash book.
I’ve been wanting to purchase one of these ever since I laid eye on one at Micheal’s while out shopping for work one day, but hadn’t had the chance to go back. The next thing I knew everyone at work was carrying one around. It’s become a HUGE hit at work and I finally decided to go out an get one for myself. They are meant to be somewhat of a notebook and a scrapbook smashed into one. It comes with a pen that has a built in glue stick. There are a ton of accessories from tabs to pockets and more. Pull out that 40% off coupon from your Sunday ad and spend the day creating away!

 

Well what are you waiting for? Turn off the computer and get started!
(And don’t forget to come back and tell us what other things you did while unplugged.)

Leave a Reply

