Wellness Wednesday: Be the Queen of Your Heart

Art by nosredna1313 on deviantART

Several months ago, I decided to go and get my blood work done and to my surprise, I found out I have high cholesterol! I couldn’t believe it and neither could anyone else. I exercise, I generally eat healthy foods, I don’t smoke, I don’t drink, my weight is ok, but, my dad has high cholesterol. Ever since I found out, it has been my mission to lower this cholesterol problem as much as I can so I don’t have to be put on any medication and I can live a healthier life.  So, I have an article from a newsletter called Sunshine Sharing that I would like to share with you! So if you have heart health issues, please read on.

Heart-Mending Supplements

There are numerous herbs and nutritional supplements that can help to both prevent and reverse heart disease. We can’t cover them all, but here are a few of the most important ones.

Co-Q10: The Hear Protector

Over 4,000 scientific studies have been done on Coenzyme Q10, known as Co-Q10 for short. Research shows that this antioxidant helps reduce cardiac inflammation and both prevents and helps to reverse heart disease. It also reduces inflammation in the gums to help heal gum disease.
The beneficial effects of Co-Q10 are numerous. It reduces blood pressure, aids recover from heart attacks, keeps LDL cholesterol from oxidizing and improves energy production in the heart muscle. Statin drugs deplete Q10, so this supplement should always be taken by people using statin drugs to lower cholesterol.

L-Cartinine for Heart Energy

This important amino acid, found primarily in red meat, transports fatty acids to be metabolized for energy in the michondria. It improves energy production and oxygen utilization in the heart and can be very helpful for improving heart health.

Magnesium to Prevent Spasms

About half of all Americans are deficient in magnesium, a critical mineral for heart health. Magnesium helps the heart and blood vessels to relax properly, which reduces stress on the heart, helps protect the heart against spasms and helps lower blood pressure. Magnesium is also essential for energy production in the heart.
If you have not had your blood work done before, do yourself a favor and see what’s going on. Chances are, you are completely healthy but it never hurts to be safe.

One thought on “Wellness Wednesday: Be the Queen of Your Heart

Leave a Reply

